Sunday, November 22, 2015

"NATIONAL PARK MYSTERY SERIES" by author Scott Graham--thrilling outdoor adventures--involving characters and intriguing storylines




Canyon Sacrifice









WHEN HIS NEW STEPDAUGHTER IS KIDNAPPED DURING A VISIT TO THE GRAND CANYON, ARCHAEOLOGIST CHUCK BENDER FACES UP TO HIS SECRET PAST AND HIS UNFAMILIAR FAMILY-MAN ROLE AS E CONFRONTS EVERY PARENT'S NIGHTMARE--THAT OF A MISSING CHILD.




"CANYON SACRIFICE" IS A GRIPPING PAGE-TURNER THAT BRINGS THE RUGGED WESTERN LANDSCAPE, THEY MYSTERIOUS PAST OF THE ANCIENT ANASAZI INDIANS, AND THE MODER SOUTHWEST'S ONGOING CULTURAL FISSURES VIVIDLY TO LIFE. "CANYON SACRIFICE IS THE FIRST IN THE "NATIONAL PARK MYSTERY SERIES".




Each book in Scott Graham’s National Park Mystery Series takes place in a US national park. The next book in the series will take place in Rocky Mountain National Park (titled Mountain Rampage) followed by a mystery set in Yellowstone National Park and later Yosemite National Park. Mystery-lovers will experience the breathtaking wild places of the US—and the thrill of a riveting story unfolding in iconic, often familiar, landscapes. 


























MOUNTAIN RAMPAGE  by Scott Graham





"MOUNTAIN RAMPAGE" IS THE RIVETING SECOND INSTALLMENT OF THE "NATIONAL PARK MYSTERY SERIES" FROM AUTHOR SCOTT GRAHAM.



CHUCK BENDER IS RUNNING AN ARCHAEOLOGY FIELD SCHOOL FOR COLLEGE STUDENTS WHEN THE SUMMER TAKES A DEADLY TURN. WHILE DEFENDING HIS OWN BROTHER-IN-LAW FROM FALSE ACCUSATIONS OF MURDER, CHUCK FINDS HIMSELF AND HIS YOUNG WIFE AND STEPDAUGHTERS IN THE CROSSHAIRS OF AN UNKNOWN KILLER. AS HE INVESTIGATES THE BRUTAL SLAYING OF A RESORT WORKER IN ROCKY MOUNTAIN NATIONAL PARK, HE DISCOVERS A MASS GRAVE OF MAJESTIC ROCKY MOUNTAIN RAMS--ALL OF THEM MISSING THEIR VALUABLE HORNS, AND CHUCK REALIZES HE IS DEALING WITH A DESPERATE KILLER WHO WILL STOP AT NOTHING.


"MOUNTAIN RAMPAGE" EXPLORES THE CHALLENGES AND THRILLS OF ARCHAEOLOGICAL DIGS, THE JOYS AND HEARTACHES OF FAMILY RELATIONSHIPS, AND THE STARK BEAUTY OF ONE OF AMERICA'S MOST BREATHTAKING WILD PLACES. 



%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%%


"Graham has created a beautifully balanced book, incorporating intense action scenes, depth of characterization, realistic landscapes, and historical perspective."
REVIEWING THE EVIDENCE


"This riveting series debut showcases Graham's love of nature and archeology, simultaneously interjecting some serious excitement. Graham is to be commended for weaving together several cultures into one story. Recommend to readers who enjoy Tony Hillerman, Nevada Barr, and C.J. Box’s Joe Pickett series."
LIBRARY JOURNAL


"A gripping tale of kidnapping and murder...in a style similar to mysteries by Tony Hillerman."
ALBUQUERQUE JOURNAL


"Graham has created a story [of] richness and depth...Graham's comfort and familiarity with his subject make the story an enjoyable read."
DURANGO HERALD


"A riveting mystery...Graham takes readers intimately into the setting, his knowledge of the places he writes about apparent at every turn."
DURANGO TELEGRAPH


"A terrific debut novel..."
C.J. BOX, New York Times bestselling author of Stone Cold and Breaking Point


"The real star of this engrossing mystery novel is the Grand Canyon itself. Scott Graham clearly knows the territory. In addition to some fine plot twists guaranteed to keep you guessing to the end, Graham delivers a glorious portrait of one of the most compelling landscapes on earth, a place that can kill just as easily as it thrills. This is a topnotch read."
WILLIAM KENT KRUEGER, New York Times bestselling author of Tamarack County


"One of the most engaging mysteries I've read in a long while! In archaeologist Chuck Bender, Scott Graham has created a flawed, all–too–human and memorable investigator who had me rooting for him to the end. The setting is magnificent and fascinating—nothing less than the Grand Canyon with its centuries–old secrets. The plot is fast–paced and filled with suspense. Canyon Sacrifice delivers it all and then some."
MARGARET COEL, New York Times bestselling author of Killing Custer


"Bring an extra–large bowl of popcorn while you read Sacrifice in one sitting."
C.M. WENDELBOE, author of Death on the Greasy Grass


"In this gripping, imaginative mystery set in Grand Canyon National Park, ancient Anasazi culture collides with the modern world in the most unexpected of ways. Like Tony Hillerman, Scott Graham uses his deep knowledge of the region to fashion a thrilling, compulsively readable story."
FRANK HUYLER, author of The Blood of Strangers


"As unpredictable and twisty as a switchback trail plummeting into its depths, Graham's thriller sucks you into the mysteries of the canyon and the story of an unsuspecting family whose lives will never be the same."
TED BOTHA, author of The Girl With the Crooked Nose


"Graham deftly weaves a first–rate mystery through the caves and canyons and winding roads of the Grand Canyon. If you've been, you'll immediately be drawn into the story. If you've never been, this may be your motivation to buy the ticket! I can't wait to read which national park he tackles next!"
TRICIA FIELDS, Hillerman Prize–winning author of Scratchgravel Road


"Stunning setting, intriguing plot and likeable characters make this debut novel a bookseller's dream."
ANDREA AVANTAGGIO, owner of Maria's Bookshop






























Scott Graham has explored the Grand Canyon all his life. He has backpacked into the canyon’s farthest reaches, and rowed his own eighteen-foot raft down the canyon’s notorious Colorado River rapids. He is an avid outdoorsman and amateur archaeologist who enjoys rock climbing, skiing, backpacking, mountaineering, river rafting, and whitewater kayaking with his wife, an emergency physician, and their two sons. Graham’s book, Extreme Kids, won the National Outdoor Book Award. His five nonfiction books have been reviewed positively by many publications, including the New York Times. Graham lives in Durango, Colorado. Learn more about Scott Graham at ScottFranklinGraham.com.


No comments:

Post a Comment