Wednesday, June 18, 2014

THE SPIRIT KEEPER: A NOVEL by K.B. Laugheed--A fiery frontier woman falls deeply in love with her Native American captor on an epic journey



 A Novel 

THE SPIRIT KEEPER: A NOVEL  by K.B. Laugheed 



This is the account of Katie O’Toole, late of Lancaster Co., Pennsylvania, removed from her family by savages on March the 2nd in the year of our Lord 1747

 

The thirteenth child conceived of miserable Irish exiles, Katie O’Toole dreams of a different life. Little does she know that someone far away is dreaming of her.  


In 1747, savages raid her family home, and seventeen-year-old Katie is taken captive. Syawa and Hector have been searching for her, guided by Syawa’s dreams. A young Holyman, Syawa believes Katie is the subject of his Vision: the Creature of Fire and Ice, destined to bring a great gift to his people. Despite her flaming hair and ice-blue eyes, Katie is certain he is mistaken, but faced with returning to her family, she agrees to join them. She soon discovers that in order to fulfill Syawa’s Vision, she must first become his Spirit Keeper, embarking on an epic journey that will change her life—and heart—forever.   


The Spirit Keeper captures the soul of a young woman on a quest to discover herself during a remarkable adventure across the New World. Ideal for fans of The Son and Empire of the Summer Moon, this riveting novel will transport and enchant readers.


"Katie's extraordinary journey and her unconquerable spirit haunt me"--New York Times bestselling author Sandra Dallas 


"A tale as bighearted as its trailblazer heroine, Katie O'Toole...by turns mysterious, raw, funny, and sensual. A moving story of adventure, self-discovery, trust and loss, and a testament to how cultures as separate as continents can be bridged by love."--Barbara Kyle, author of Blood Between Queens and The Queen's Lady  


"Remarkable...a powerful and compelling tale."--Mary Jo Putney, author of The Bargain    



K.B. LAUGHEED  


K.B. Laugheed is an organic gardener and master naturalist who has spent a lifetime feeding the earth. Her efforts have culminated in The Spirit Keeper, her first novel and largest contribution to the pot-luck so far.


http://www.kblaugheed.com/    

No comments:

Post a Comment